Home > Corporate > Board

John Gooding


John joined the Board in May 2007 and accepted the role of Chairman on 1 June 2017 succeeding  Hon Dean Brown. He is a Mining Engineer with over 40 years' experience in the resources industry and has held operational and executive management positions with a number of major mining companies in Australia, including Normandy Mining and MIM. For over 9 years until November 2016, John was the Managing Director and CEO of Highlands Pacific Ltd, a PNG registered resources company, and was a director of the PNG Chamber of Mines and Energy for 7 years. John is also Chairman of Kasbah Resources Ltd.

Lachlan Wallace

Chief Executive Officer & Managing Director

Lachlan joined Hillgrove in 2012 as the Kanmantoo Mine Manager and was promoted to General Manager for the project in 2015. During his time at Hillgrove, Lachlan has overseen the successful completion of the open pit at Kanmantoo and was instrumental in converting the Kanmantoo pumped hydro concept into Australia’s lowest cost energy storage opportunity, which culminated in the sale of development rights to AGL in 2019. Over the past 20 years Lachlan has held leadership roles across the complete mining cycle. Immediately prior to joining Hillgrove, Lachlan was the Group Mining Manager with Stemcor Europe AG, where he developed Stemcor’s Indian iron ore and manganese assets and established thermal coal trade flows from Indonesia. Prior to this Lachlan was a senior mining consultant with Coffey working throughout the African continent and the Mine Superintendent at the Savage River Iron Ore Mine in Tasmania. A qualified mining engineer, Lachlan also holds a Master of Mineral Economics and MBA.

Philip Baker

non-executive director

Phil is a CPA with over 30 years in the mining industry. He started with MIM Holdings Ltd in 1980 undertaking various roles before leading the development and construction of the Ernest Henry copper/gold mine from 1995-97, and then responsible for the copper refinery and other operations in north Queensland. He became Group Treasurer and later EGM - Strategy, Planning and Development, leaving when MIM was acquired by Xstrata in 2003.  Phil was then CFO and Company Secretary at Peplin Limited and later QMAG Limited before joining Lihir Gold Limited in 2007 as CFO, serving as CEO for three months in 2010 before the takeover by Newcrest.  After a period consulting, Phil joined Rio Tinto in 2012 as CFO of Pacific Aluminium to help prepare it for divestment, but left in late 2013 when it was reintegrated into Rio Tinto Alcan.  Phil has been a director of numerous subsidiary and trustee companies and is Chairman of the Hillgrove Audit & Risk and Treasury committees and a member of the  Nomination Committee.

Antony Breuer

non-executive director

Mr Antony (Tony) Breuer joined the Board on 1 June 2017 as a non-executive director, replacing the Hon Dean Brown who retired on 31 May 2017. Tony holds a Bachelor of Commerce/Laws degree from the University of New South Wales and is admitted as a Barrister of the Supreme Court of New South Wales. He had over thirty two years of experience at the Sydney based investment bank, Gresham Partners Limited.  He was formerly, Director of National Gallery Australia Foundation.

Murray Boyte

Non-Executive Director

Murray joined the Board in May 2019, as a Non-Executive Director replacing Maurice Loomes.  Murray has over 35 years experience in merchant banking and finance, undertaking company reconstructions, mergers and acquisitions in Australia, New Zealand, North America and Hong Kong.  Murray holds a Bachelor of Commerce and Administration from the Victoria Universtiy in Wellington and is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, the Institute of Directors of New Zealand and Chartered Accountants Australia & New Zealand.  In addition, Murray has held executive positions and directorships in the transport, horticulture, finance service, investment, health services and property industries. Murray is currently the Chairman of Eureka Group Holdings (ASX: EGH) and National Tyre & Wheel Limited (ASX: NTD) and a director of Abano Healthcare Group Limited (NZX: ABA).